Home > Welcome to Augusta Township > Council > Our Committees & Boards

Our Committees & Boards

The Township of Augusta has several committees which work to improve and promote life within the Township.  The committees are made up of Council members, Township employees and volunteers from the community and other local public services.

Committee of Adjustment:

This Committee is in place to make decisions regarding minor variances to the Township’s By-Laws, usually By-Law 2965-2012 (the Zoning By-Law) when residents apply for land severances.

Economic Development and Tourism Committee:

This committee works in an advisory capacity to attract, promote, retain and expand economic development and tourism within Augusta Township to make our Township a sustainable community in which to live, work and play. Each year Council and the Economic Development & Tourism Committee work together to put on the following three events:

Augusta Township Business of the Year and Trail Blazer Awards

Council and the committee celebrate the accomplishments of two businesses in the Township of Augusta each year who have shown community involvement and innovation.  The Business of the Year Award is given to a business who has shown longevity, community involvement and innovation. The Trail Blazer Award is given to a young entrepreneur who has launched a business in the last 1 to 5 years, is under the age of 35 and has shown community involvement, innovation and sustainability.

Business Showcase                     

Each year as a joint effort, the Township of Augusta, Township of Edwardsburgh/Cardinal and the Town of Prescott put together a Business Showcase and Expo featuring businesses from all three communities. The Business Showcase & Expo Committee, is a subcommittee of the Economic Development & Tourism Committee. They continue to strive to provide this quality event to recognize and support local businesses and enhance community networking opportunities.

Augusta Township Mayor’s Breakfast

Every year the Mayor hosts a breakfast for local businesses and the public with presentations on topics that matter to the Township of Augusta. The MP and MPP also attend to update residents on how the government is continuing to assist rural residents.

Joint Recreation Committee:

This advisory committee has representatives from the individual recreation centers as well as the library. They help shape what recreation is in Augusta Township. In 2016, the Township in conjunction with the recreation associations and public library began a process of developing a multi-year Parks, Recreation and Culture Master Plan. The Plan is now complete and serves as a guiding document and provides the principles for recreational and cultural service delivery for both the immediate and longer-term future.

Library Board:

The Augusta Township Public Library Board is composed of volunteers who act in accordance with the Public Library Act.  The Board is responsible for formulating policies concerning the operations of the library to provide a comprehensive and efficient public library service that reflects the unique needs of Augusta Township.

Operations & Waste Management Committee:

This advisory committee is appointed by Council and is responsible for giving advice to Council on matters concerning the provision of waste management services at the Township’s two waste transfer stations. It is also a function of this Committee to provide comments and advice with respect to the management and maintenance of the Township’s municipal road system.

Planning Advisory Committee:

This advisory committee makes informed, well researched recommendations to Council regarding planning and agricultural practices in the Township with the best interests of all residents and future development of the township being of foremost importance. They work within the guidelines of the official plan, zoning By-Law and the Township planner to help expedite decisions in a fair and timely manner.

Police Services Board:

The Township of Augusta receives their police services from the Ontario Provincial Police – Grenville County (Prescott) Detachment.  The Police Services Board is made up of one Provincial appointee, one municipal appointee and the Mayor.  Essentially this Board works in consultation with the Detachment Commander to bring forward any local issues and concerns so as to ensure the safety and security of the residents of the municipality.  The Board cannot direct the Detachment Commander with respect to specific operational decisions or day-to-day operations of the police service however.


Youth Advisory Committee:

The “YAC” is a new initiative that will be starting in the Fall of 2018.  It will be made up of youth 12-17 years old that live in Augusta Township. They will work as a team to collaborate with the Township on events, programs and other initiatives that matter to the youth members.  If you or someone you know are interested in joining this committee, please visit the YAC page for more information or contact the Township office (613-925-4231).